Shallow

I’ve been feeling very… shallow, lately, and not in the way most people consider other people “shallow”.

I don’t mean I have been particularly vain recently, but I have felt as though my soul, or some part of my being, has dried up. I feel like a puddle, in the place of an extinct river bed.

I’ve been trying so hard to focus on the good, or to not think about the things that are bugging me, that I feel my existence these past few days has been in one of pure disbelief.

I don’t really feel satisfied with myself, and that’s because I’ve been trying to avoid all of my bad feelings. I got a glimpse of that tonight, where it was the first time I said out loud, to another human being, all of the things bugging me right now. And it felt good. I was okay with not feeling okay, but allowing myself to understand what was causing that. I believe we all need that sometimes. We all need to vent, because not everything will always be going okay. If we can understand why, though, things will get better, or at least they will get easier.

Okay, Peace!…

Leave a comment